Homemade Fig Newtons!

I don’t know about you, but for some reason fig newtons remind me of being a kid.  I don’t even think I ate them that much when I was younger but they still bring me back to the good old days of Xena Warrior Princess (yeah I’m not ashamed of it) and lemonade stands.  I found this recipe a long time ago and due to recent random cravings for fig newtons, I thought it’d be fun to make my own! Fun.. not so sure. Delicious and totally worth it.. yes.  As previously mentioned, me and baking don’t always see eye to eye.  Here’s yet another example of this.  The recipe necessitates the use of a food processor and of course the only one that I own is very small and not very nice.  Have you ever tried sawing a tree down with a butterknife?  That’s kinda what trying to process a bunch of gooey, thick dates/figs in a cheap food processor was like.  On top of not all fitting in my machine, I’m pretty sure they permanently damaged the blades.  So I had to resort to a blender which was honestly just as difficult.  BUT, once I got that mixture all combined everything else was super easy.  Of course if you own a real food processor you definitely won’t run into such difficulty.  I think this recipe is great and there’s definitely room to play with it and add some different ingredients- which I plan to do if I make them again. Bon appetit!

“Skinny Fig Bars”

http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2009/12/skinny-figgy-bars.html

Filling:

8 ounces dried figs (one round package)
4 ounces pitted dates
2 tbsp. silvered or chopped almonds (optional)
2 drops anise extract (optional)
1 tbsp. agave nectar (or other liquid sweetener)
2 tbsp. water
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. ginger

Snip off the figs’ stems, and put the figs, dates, and almonds into the food processor. Grind to a coarse paste. Stir in the remaining filling ingredients and process until mixed. Set aside.

Crust:

1 cup regular or quick oats, ground in blender until fine
1 cup regular or quick oats, uncooked (not instant oatmeal)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 ounces unsweetened apple sauce
3 tbsp. agave nectar (or other liquid sweetener)
1/4 cup water

Preheat oven to 375 F. Combine the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Stir in the wet ingredients, mixing well to a thick consistency. Press half the crust mixture into the bottom of an oiled, eight-inch square cake pan (use a wooden spoon or your hands). Spread the fig mixture evenly over the crust. Smooth the remaining crust mixture over the filling. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until lightly browned. Allow to cool completely before cutting into bars.

Icing (optional):

Mix powdered sugar (about 3 tbsp.) with a little water (Start with 1/2 tsp.) until the right consistency. Add vanilla or almond extract to taste (just drops). Drizzle over top of bars before cutting.

 

Leave a Reply

