The First Supper!

So as my very first post, I am excited to present a little meal that I prepared for me and my friend just last night!  Let me start off by saying that I LOVE to grill- I spent most of my summer stoking the flames of our giant family-size grill. Therefore when I found out that my apartment was going to have a backyard and screened in porch, I simply HAD to go buy one. Although it is about 1/3 the size of the one I have at home, it is my perfect little baby!  The reason that I love to grill is because it is so quick and easy and with a schedule like mine, that is the recipe for success.  So when the rain started to pour down yesterday, I naturally just brought my little grill into our porch, dried her off, and put her to work.

My Little Girl

What I ended up preparing consisted of grilled pork tenderloin with a homemade
barbecue rub (recipe follows); accompanied by salad, baked potatoes (sweet potato for me), and corn on the cob.  As you can see, all extremely simple yet very tasty ingredients!  To end the meal with something sweet, I picked up some fresh strawberries and made strawberry shortcake.  The secret to keeping any dessert nutritious is to incorporate fruit whenever you can. Bon appetit!

Pork tenderloin ready for some grillin action

Easy barbecue rub (courtesy of my Mom):

1 TB chili powder

2 tsp salt

2 tsp light brown sugar

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp ground red pepper

stir ingredients until well blended

stop drooling!

Leave a Reply

