Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Icing..YES PLEASE

I’d like to begin this post by saying that I HATE baking..it is just horrible in my opinion. I don’t like having to meticulously follow recipes and I especially don’t like making a trillion exact measurements.  Part of what I love about cooking is the improvision- making something out of nothing; adding a little flare and flavor to common ingredients. Baking for some reason is also just a challenge for me and I feel like everything I bake always has something wrong with it. Take this recipe for example- I somehow managed to not completely bake the middle of the cake (rookie mistake I know)!  Even after numerous phone calls to my mom (which she of course happily answered), I still couldn’t get it totally right. I blame the pan though because who on earth owns a jelly roll pan?  Clearly not me, and not Bi-Lo either for that matter.  Luckily, pumpkin cake batter is UNBELIEVABLY delicious..seriously, if you haven’t had it, just pull this baby out of the oven a couple minutes early 🙂  No but in all honesty, there’s really no way to mess this cake up- it’s super easy and outrageously delicious.  Which is why it lasted all of about 20 minutes and I failed to get a good picture..sorry bout it! So without further adieu, here is the recipe that will change your life.. Bon appetit!

Pumpkin Cake

1 cup veg oil

2 cups sugar

1 16-oz can pumpkin

2 cups flour

4 eggs

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

Mix all ingredients together and pour onto greased jelly
roll pan (11 X 14).  Bake at 350 for
20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.

 Cool and frost with:

3 oz cream cheese

1 tsp vanilla

¾ stick soft butter

1 box confectioners sugar

2-3 TB milk (to desired consistency)

heaven in a pan

P.S. If you’re wondering about the nutritional benefits of this recipe, here they are:  HAPPY BELLY… you needn’t know anything else

One response

Leave a Reply

