Fall Break=Salmon Time!

One of the reasons I love coming home for breaks (aside from seeing my family of course), is the excuse to buy higher quality ingredients like good seafood!  Being that I actually have time to cook something nice, it’s great to be able to treat both my parents and myself. That being said, I haven’t had salmon since I’ve been at school so I thought this would be a great opportunity to cook some up.  Fall season pretty much equates to roasting for me so that’s the direction I wanted to go in.  Accompanying my roasted salmon were roasted brussel sprouts, portabella fries, and a little lentil dish I whipped up.  I have Ina to thank for this incredibly delicious and simple salmon dish and I encourage everyone to try this recipe which follows.  It serves 6 people so I just halved everything. Bon appetit!

Dinner is served!

Roasted Salmon with Green Herbs

Barefoot Contessa

Ingredients

  • 1 (2- to 2 1/2-pound) skinless salmon fillet
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup minced scallions, white and green parts (4 scallions)
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh dill
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • Lemon wedges, for serving

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Place the salmon fillet in a glass, ceramic, or stainless-steel roasting dish and season it generously with salt and pepper. Whisk together the olive oil and lemon juice and drizzle the mixture evenly over the salmon. Let it stand at room temperature for 15 minutes.

In a small bowl, stir together the scallions, dill, and parsley. Scatter the herb mixture over the salmon fillet, turning it so that both sides are generously coated with the green herbs. Pour the wine around the fish fillet.

Roast the salmon for 10 to 12 minutes, until almost cooked in the center at the thickest part. The center will be firm with just a line of uncooked salmon in
the very center.

Fillet'o salmon

Roasted brussel heaven!

*Toss brussels with some EVOO, salt, and pepper and bake at 450 degrees for 30 minutes

My little lentil concoction.

*Just throw some sauteed mushrooms and onions in with the cooked lentils and add a little red wine vinegar (for some tang) and chicken broth (for moisture). Season to taste.

Leave a Reply

