Horseradish and Dill crusted Tilapia

Something that you should know about me aside from my extreme love of vegetables, is my obsession with all things vinegary.  Anything that is pickled, mixed with vinegar, or just nice and tangy is basically a go in my book.  In fact, I have a jar of pickled onions in my refrigerator right now that I could pretty much snack on like potato chips.  That being said, horseradish is one of those ingredients that I could smother on anything and eat.  Horseradish and mustard (and the heavenly combination of the two) are permanent condiments for me.  So since I have 2 bags of frozen tilapia fillets in my freezer (thanks to the great buy 1 get 1 free deals at bi lo) and a jar of horseradish in my fridge, I figured it was about time to marry the two. Throw in a little dill and some freshly squeezed lemon juice and dinner is ready. I served this with my previously mentioned lentil dish, corn, and my vegetable of the month- brussel sprouts.  On that note, I apologize if you’ve been looking for more of a veggie variety in my posts but I am utterly obsessed with brussel sprouts ever since my roommate just recently introduced them to me.  I actually just made a slaw using them per the suggestion of a Whole Foods worker- great idea!  Anyways, this dish is super simple as always and takes practically no time to prepare.  Bon appetit!

Tilapia recipe (1 Serving):

1 Tilapia fillet

1 teaspoon dill

2 tablespoons horseradish

juice of half a lemon

salt, pepper

Directions:  Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Season tilapia on both sides with salt, pepper, and dill.  Spread horseradish on top and then squeeze lemon juice over fillet.  Bake for 5-7 minutes until it flakes with a fork (tilapia does not take long to cook).

Leave a Reply

