Stuffed Poblano Pepper!

VEGGIES.  That really is all I have to say about this dish.  Being the veggie fiend that I am, some would say I went a little overboard tonight.  Of course I totally disagree. After my trip to the produce stand, I simply had to use my recent purchases.  Their poblano peppers looked fantastic so I picked one up as well as zucchini and a tomato.  There really is nothing better than fresh, local produce.  Anyways, I decided I pretty much wanted to stuff as much deliciousness into my pepper as physically possible so my ingredient list includes zucchini, tomato, mushroom, onion, corn, and spinach.  Lastly, I used the always awesome lentils.  I really don’t think anything negative can be said about these little legumes and they were the perfect substitute for beans since I didn’t have any. The recipe is a multi-step process but if you chop up everything beforehand, it really doesn’t take too long.  Bon appetit!

Mi poblanito!

Stuffed Poblano Pepper:

1 poblano pepper, sliced in half

1/4 cup lentils

Veggie mixture- I really encourage you to just throw in whatever veggies you like (I, personally, don’t discriminate):

I chopped up a combination of tomato, red onion, zucchini, and threw in some corn, mushrooms, and spinach

1/4 cup tomatillo salsa (or whatever you prefer)

EVOO

2 garlic cloves, crushed

salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste

Directions: Bring 3/4 cup water to boil for lentils and preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Rinse lentils first and then place in boiling water.  Reduce to simmer and cook for approximately 15 minutes or until soft.  Drizzle pepper, zucchini, and tomato with EVOO. Season with salt, pepper, and garlic, and bake for around 10-12 minutes. Meanwhile, sautee garlic with onions and mushrooms.  Add spinach and corn last, after about 3 minutes.  Assemble the pepper by stuffing everything inside and then top with salsa!

Leave a Reply

