Cabbage Crunch!

Whole Foods gets all the credit for this post because I stole the idea right out of their recipe book.  As a former team member at Whole Foods this summer, I scowered the salad and platter bars basically every day admiring their many healthy creations (although not EVERYTHING there is the absolute healthiest- which I think is a common misnomer).  Anyways, for all you cabbage lovers out there- this one’s for you!  Cabbage crunch is the name of this little treat that involves some of my favorite ingredients- red cabbage, green onion, slivered almonds, and VINEGAR! It’s super simple to make and I just used my own measurements since the ingredients are the only things provided on the tag.  This recipe is a must-make though and I’m glad I was able to perfect it before coming back to school in a place where the nearest Whole Foods is 45 minutes away! That being said, there is a lot of room to play around with this recipe so throw in whatever you wish (like more vinegar if you’re me!)  Bon appetit!

Cabbage Crunch (adapated from Whole Foods)

1 head red cabbage, roughly chopped

2 tablespoons toasted almond slivers

1 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds

1 bunch green onions, chopped

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons EVOO

2 tablespoons honey

salt, pepper

Toast sesame seeds and almonds in small skillet. Combine all ingredients through onions in a large bowl. Whisk together the rest of the ingredients in a small bowl and pour over cabbage. For best results, let sit in refrigerator for a couple hours or overnight.

One response

  1. Great recipe, thanks! One of my favs. I think it tastes just like WF cabbage crunch but I have noticed one thing…my cabbage crunch salad tints everything in the salad red which is fine but how do they stop that from happening at WF? Just wondering. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

